A Bar in Review

If you’ve read many of my posts, I’m sure you’ve gleaned that I’m a creature of habit. So far the best pre-gym snack I’ve found for longer workouts are protein bars. For shorter workouts, say 75 minutes or less, I typically eat half a bar. Of course, you gotta mix it up or you’ll get sick of your favorites. Here’s my review of bars I recently sampled. (I purchased all the samples at Super Walmart in South Portland, Maine. I know I shouldn’t shop there—it’s a long story why I did.)


All bars reviewed here are 5 PointsPlus®.


Luna Protein (Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough). Like the Core 4 (folic acid, etc.), point value, taste, and texture but just wish it was bigger—maybe 5 bites!
South Beach Protein Fit Bar (Vanilla Caramel) – Like the chewiness and that it’s not gone in two seconds as a result. Decent size. Tasty. (Note: I’m not sure if the other flavors are more than 5 PointsPlus®.)
Pure Protein Soft Baked (Chocolate Peanut Butter). It’s pretty darn hard to bite but very tasty. I like that it’s more of a Little Debbie snack cake texture than a traditional protein bar texture. However, even eating sugar substitutes in small amounts nearly daily, the sugar alcohols in this still caused me some stomach cramping. Really unfortunate as I’d love to make this my standby pre-workout bar!
Supreme Protein Bar, 15g Protein (Caramel Nut Chocolate). This is my favorite of the five. It’s quite similar to a candy bar. I especially like it with a cup of hot tea as otherwise it gets a bit stuck in your teeth. Weird, yes, but I tell it like it is. I also really like the Peanut Butter Crunch flavor, but it’s harder to find. The Peanut Butter Pretzel was surprisingly gross—way too sweet, even for this sweet hound. I’ve never actually seen the Cookies’n Cream one in a store, but I’m eager to try it if I ever do. (Note: the packaging of this brand was recently redesigned so they are no longer really obvious on the shelf, oddly enough. Also, if you get the size with 30g protein, it’s double the points so just eat half instead of a whole–more economical!)
Atkins Meal Bar (Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter Granola, Strawberry Yogurt). My favorite is the Peanut Butter Granola, as it tastes like a Do-Si-Dos® Girl Scout cookie. The Chocolate Chip tastes a bit like a Keebler cookie. I don’t much care for the Cookies and Cream, but it’s also only 5 PointsPlus®. Note that flavors not listed here are more than 5 PointsPlus®.

This entry was published on June 11, 2014 at 4:33 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

