Easy, Delicious Crock Pot Whole Chicken

This recipe is great for those times you see whole chickens on sale, which are actually usually quite cheap to begin with. I usually serve it the first night with mashed potatoes and steamed carrots. (I steam the latter for 30 minutes, which means I fill the pot 1/3 full with water).
I make very simple mashed potatoes using skim milk and Light Smart Balance. I start with a drop of skim and 2 tbsp Light Smart Balance and keep adding milk until I get the right texture. I then add salt and pepper to taste. For a more butter-laden taste, I add butter spray (by I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter) to my individual servings. My husband adds a pad of real butter to his servings. Everyone wins!
To start, I put 1.5 lb potatoes, peeled and quartered length-wise, in a large pot. I cover them with water and bring to a boil. Then, reduce heat and simmer, covered, 15-20 minutes, or until done. (A fork can easily be poked through the potatoes when they’re done.) Then just drain and add the skim and Light Smart Balance. I usually just take a large potato’s worth and count it as a large potato (4 PointsPlus®), plus a point for the bit of Light Smart Balance and skim.
Since the chicken is cooked only with onion and spices, you can count it as 2 PointsPlus® for ½ cup.
I use the leftover chicken in the following ways:
Chicken Noodle Soup (recipe to be posted soon)

Chicken Salad Sandwiches on light bread (1 PointsPlus® per slice) served with cucumber slices. For each sandwich I use ½ cup chicken and 1 tbsp lowfat mayonnaise (1 PointsPlus®). I sprinkle the chicken salad with onion powder, salt, and pepper as well. After stirring, I put that on the bread with a few pieces of romaine. 5 PointsPlus® for the meal!

Chicken Nachos. For one serving, I use two servings Lays Baked Tostitos (3 PointsPlus® per serving), ½ cup chicken (2 PointsPlus®), ¼ cup fat free cheese (1 PointsPlus®), and ¼ cup fat free sour cream (1 PointsPlus®) for a total of 10 PointsPlus®. I usually heat the chicken in the microwave for a minute. After that, I melt the cheese on the nachos in the microwave for a minute or so. Then I add the chicken, some diced tomatoes, and some shredded lettuce. I dip in the sour cream and plenty of salsa. (My best friend likes to use her broiler to melt the cheese, but you have to watch them super carefully so they don’t burn and I don’t dare to go that route!)

And finally, the crock pot chicken recipe is here. It is incredibly easy.

This entry was published on April 25, 2013 at 8:20 pm. It’s filed under Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Easy, Delicious Crock Pot Whole Chicken

  1. Pingback: Low Fat Meatloaf | stepawayfromthechips

Leave a Reply

