Low Fat Meat Sauce

I’m a bit late posting my Sunday night recipe this week, but here’s what I made for my husband, parents, and parents-in-law this past Sunday:
Low Fat Meat Sauce
2 PointsPlus® per ½ cup | 5 PointsPlus® per 1 cup pasta*
1.  Dice 1 green pepper and 1 large onion. Cook them in a nonstick stock or sauce pot for about 3-5 minutes. (3 is usually enough for me. I use Anolon Advanced pots and pans so I don’t have to add oil or cooking spray. The latter is terrible for you)
2.  Add 1 pound ground chicken and cook
3.  Add 4 cans Hunt’s sauce (I mix Traditional and Garlic varieties)
4.  Add 45 slices thin-sliced turkey pepperoni, like Hormel
5.  Take 2 chicken sausages out of their casing (I peel like a cucumber with a paring knife), crumble or dice, and add to sauce
6.  Add 14 oz. canned mushrooms, drained
7.  Simmer for at least one hour

A big thank you to my best friend from college, Joy, for giving me her recipe, which I then lightened with chicken/turkey and elimination of cheese. Really, it’s still awesome! And packed with protein!

*I like Ronzoni Smart Taste, as it’s more filling for the same points value

This entry was published on February 21, 2013 at 5:33 pm. It’s filed under Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Low Fat Meat Sauce

  1. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely fantastic. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it smart. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful site.

  2. Many, many thanks, Dorian! I have a few posts that I just need to edit before posting. I hope you like ’em!

Leave a Reply

