Bla-dow

I recently posted a review of my first impressions of CrossFit. Now that I’ve completed my five-week trial, here’s my final review:

If you have any disposable income, I handsdown recommend purchasing a CrossFit membership, especially if you’re one of those generally fit girls who somehow can’t seem to tone her biceps. CrossFit definitely did that for me more than any other fitness regimen. (Swimming two hours a day worked almost as well.) However, if the CrossFit classes near you are like the ones I attended and are such a short duration (sometimes only 15 minutes of actual activity), I wouldn’t advise canceling your regular gym membership, but rather, I’d take what you deem your more boring days at your regular gym, and transfer that time to CrossFit where you’ll likely reap much better rewards for your efforts. I should mention that I typically only did CrossFit one to three times a week and my biceps were suddenly toned.

Also, if you’re lacking confidence and/or if you want to quickly build a sense of community, I strongly urge you to go to CrossFit. My confidence soared every time I attended a class and learned something else I could do: lift more than my own bodyweight, climb a 20’ rope, do 16 handstand pushups, and, well, you get it. And even if you go in and can’t do these things, you’ll be amazed at how quickly you progress. You’ll also probably be a bit surprised at how supportive your fellow CrossFiters are. Even if you lag behind once in a while and you’re the last one finishing the WOD, their cheering you on to the end will leave you feeling better than great, I assure you.

In sum, I absolutely love CrossFit, but my number one goal at this time is travel and not biceps, so I’ll be sticking with my Y membership and bankrolling my extra cash for a big 2014 trip. Can’t wait!

Also, if you know any men who are eager to get in shape quick, I completely recommend CrossFit for them as well. They ought to be looking pretty good in no time! If not, throw in some cardio a few times a week and you should be hard pressed if things don’t happen!

Image courtesy of Crossfit MF in Westbrook, Maine, where I hear the classes are a full hour and awesome!

This entry was published on January 28, 2013 at 5:43 pm. It’s filed under Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Bla-dow

  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say superb blog!

Leave a Reply

