Running Tunes

Another confession: I’m not a natural runner. In fact, I couldn’t (or wouldn’t) even do the standard mile-run test in middle school. (Thanks, Ash, for walking it with me—really took one for the team there.) But when I started rugby in high school, it was immediately clear that I would have to move my ass a little more than I was used to and run. And I say that as someone who had just completed a season swimming—mostly 500s—rather well I might say. The bottom line, as we all know, is that running is just different somehow. There is very little room for slacking when you run, or even jog. It’s aerobic, you’re heart gets going, your muscles work. It can be tough. Especially to start.

So here’s some assistance to remove your “it’s boring” excuse: a list of my top running songs. Of course, this is always in flux and I’m actually due for an update like, yesterday, but I’ll keep you posted in the comments as I apply myself on that front. And feel free to let me know your suggestions ‘cause boy, do I need ‘em! I’m so selective with my running songs, as opposed to say, my workout/lifting/other-cardio songs that my list is too short! And then I find some new ones, abuse them to death, and am right back where I started. So please help!

 

I like to start with Give Me Everything by Pitbull.

 

All others in priority order.

Underline = Added August 23rd, 2012. 

Bold = Added July 11th, 2014

 Plain font = Added March 9th, 2015

Til I Collapse by Eminem and Nate Dog (I always play this last)
More by Usher
On Top of The World by Imagine Dragons
Fever by The Black Keys
Don’t Stop by Foster The People
Seen It All by Jake Bugg
The Fighter by Gym Class Heroes
Can’t Hold Us by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis featuring Ray Dalton
Pursuit of Happiness by Lissie
Whataya Want from Me by Adam Lambert
For My People by Missy Elliott
Pompeii by Bastille
My Body by Young The Giant
My Songs Know What You Did in The Dark by Fall Out Boy
This Head I Hold by Electric Guest
She’s So Mean by Matchbox 20
Sleeping with A Friend by Neon Trees
Break My Stride by Matthew Wilder
As Long as You Love Me by Justin Beiber
Home by Phillip Phillips (Oh, London 2012 was amazing–those gymnasts are nuts!)
Sexy Bitch by D. Ghetto
Stronger by Kanye West
Fighter by Christina Aguilera
Survivor by Destiny’s Child
Let It Rock by Kevin Rudolf
Evacuate the Dance Floor (Radio Edit) by Cascada
Lose Yourself by Eminem (I typically play this second-to-last)
Survivor Theme (I typically play a few times since it’s so short)
Scar Tissue by Red Hot Chili Peppers
Bulletproof by La Roux
As Long As You Love Me by Justin Bieber
Way I Are by Timbaland
Anna Sun by Walk The Moon
Whatcha Say by Jason Derulo
S&M by Rihanna
Only Girl by Rihanna
Break Your Heart by Taio Cruz & Ludacris
Down by Jay Sean
Just Dance by Lady Gaga
Stronger by Kelly Clarkson
Get Out of This Town by Carrie Underwood
So Small by Carrie Underwood
Crazy Dreams by Carrie Underwood
Don’t Forget to Remember Me by Carrie Underwood
Stronger by Britney Spears
Disturbia by Rihanna
Blah Blah Blah by Ke$ha
Backstabber by Ke$ha
Tick Tock by Ke$ha
Your Love is My Drug by Ke$ha
Poker Face by Lady Gaga
Circus by Britney Spears
Yeah! by Usher
Boots and Boys by Ke$ha
All or Nothing by Athena Cage (Save the Last Dance Soundtrack)
Center Stage Theme
In for the Kill by La Roux
Tigerlily by La Roux
Quicksand by La Roux
Eye of the Tiger by Survivor
No One by Alicia Keys
Tonight by Enrique Iglesias
DJ Got Us Fallin’ In Love by Usher
Lovegame by Lady Gaga
Monster by Lady Gaga
Mine by Taylor Swift
You Belong with Me by Taylor Swift
Love Story by Taylor Swift
Starts with Goodbye by Carrie Underwood
Before He Cheats by Carrie Underwood
Flat on the Floor by Carrie Underwood
Wasted by Carrie Underwood
Lessons Learned by Carrie Underwood
We’re Young and Beautiful by Carrie Underwood
Jesus Take the Wheel by Carrie Underwood
It’s Not Over by Daughtry
Used To by Daughtry
Over You by Daughtry
What About Now by Daughtry
Stop, Drop by DMX
In Da Club by Fitty Cent
Mr. Brownstone by Guns n Roses
Dog Days Are Over by Florence and The Machine
Callin’ Baton Rouge by Garth Brooks
Sweet Thing by Keith Urban
Laredo by Chris Cagle

 

This entry was published on July 26, 2012 at 8:53 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Running Tunes

  1. Big Bro on said:

    Yea, you have some amazing songs on this list! They have been playing some awesome tunes at CrossFit. Yesterday was the Thrift Shop song and an epic remix of Ke$ha’s “Take It Off.” I wouldn’t really want Daughtry or Talyor Swift for my workout/run, but most of the hip-hop tunes in this list are spot-on. I mostly just like phat, loud beats…they don’t necessarily have to be FAST tempos/bpms…just big volume 🙂

  2. Yeah, I started an update to the list, but it’s taking forever to finish! Must. focus 🙂

Leave a Reply

