Surprising Point Deals

Anyone who knows me knows that I love a deal. Especially a points deal! (As in, one that gives me a big bang for my point buck.) Here are a few of my favorites, which may surprise you. And yes, they’re still splurges.

1. Wendy’s Jr. Cheeseburger (without mayo, 8 PointsPlus) with small fry (9 PointsPlus) and a Diet Coke (0 PointsPlus). The value fry just doesn’t cut it for me, so I gladly take the extra 3-point hit. The bubbles in the Diet Coke help slow me down enough to realize that this is indeed enough food unless it’s been far too long since my last meal, which is a rare occurrence! The protein in the burger doesn’t hurt either. (I know this is all terrible from food documentaries I’ve seen, but I’m just not ready to give this splurge up yet. And, it’s super handy for traveling!)

2. Pizza and salad. Not as filling as the first one, but does the trick for a lunch sometimes. I get a large slice of thin crust for 7 PointsPlus and use a tablespoon of light vinaigrette on the salad for 1 PointsPlus.

3. 3 cups of Honeycomb cereal (yes, 3 whole cups!) with 1 cup Fat Free Hood Calorie Countdown for a total of 7 PointsPlus. I confess that I eat this for dinner far more often than I should. But I typically add half a honeydew melon or a cup of pineapple and a multivitamin at least. No points for either addition!

This entry was published on July 16, 2012 at 4:30 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

