Easy Low Points Work Lunches

As the weekend approaches, (if I’m on the ball) I start to think about my grocery list and thus, the week’s meals to come. Lunches are always toughest for me for some reason, so I sometimes have to rack my brain for ideas. In case you’re the same, here are some easy ones:

  1. Black bean burrito: low carb tortilla, 1 c. brown rice, ¼ c. black beans, ¼ c. fat free cheese, salsa, lettuce tomatoes. Microwave tortilla 10 seconds. Warm rice, beans, and cheese in microwave 2 minutes or less. (I precook my rice at home and frequently use the 10-minute boil-in-a-bag version.) Top with remaining ingredients and enjoy! Tip: I usually have too much filling (rice, beans, cheese), so I leave some in my bowl and top it with extra salsa and veggies. 9 PointsPlus®.
  2. Better’n Peanut Butter & banana sandwich: Use Weight Watchers bread for just 1 point a slice, 2 tbs. BPB, and a banana. The sandwich is 4 PointsPlus®. Add some grapes on the side and this is quite filling. (Grapes take up a lot of space in your tum, like popcorn, so that’s why I choose them here over say, an apple. Although if you get sick of grapes, that’s probably what I’d go to.)
  3. Pizza & salad: You heard right. I get a large slice of cheese thin crust from the place across the street for 7 PointsPlus® and throw in a big garden salad with 1 tablespoon light Italian dressing on the side. 8 PointsPlus® for the whole thing. Tip: make your own salad to save some dough of course.
  4. Pure Protein bar & salad: If I’m really low on points, this does the trick. I add some light vinaigrette to my salad, then for “dessert” a mug of tea with powdered creamer so my protein bar’s a little melty, Only 6 PointsPlus®.
  5. Buffalo chicken salad: At home, coat chicken breast with Tabasco as desired, and bake at 350 20-30 minutes. For the salad, I like mixed greens, cucumber, and carrot. I eat red pepper and broccoli on the side. At work I microwave ½ cup of chicken for a minute and toss it onto the salad with 2 tablespoons Bolthouse blue cheese dressing, which is only 1 point! 3 PointsPlus®  total for the salad with chicken. Tip: Buy the chicken breast that’s cut down to tender-size pieces. It only takes 20 minutes to bake.

Let me know some of your healthy lunch ideas in the comments below, please.

This entry was published on June 1, 2012 at 7:32 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Easy Low Points Work Lunches

  1. Nicole on said:

    To increase my iron, I’ve replaced a lot of the lettuce on this list with baby spinach. For example, in the burrito, I now only use one leaf of romaine and the rest is baby spinach. I use as much as I can cram into the tortilla!

Leave a Reply

