Traveling Healthy

I recently had the wonderful opportunity to visit friends in Denver. While there I did more than my fair share of indulging; however, here are a few travel strategies I always use to help keep me on track:

  1. Never take a vacation from tracking. Even if I’ve used more than my daily, Flex, and earned activity points, I track it all. Believe it or not, it always helps me rein it in a bit. Without the tracking, I have no doubt that my 100-point overage would have easily turned into 200. Seeing the truth there in front of me helps me seek opportunities to make healthier choices as my vacation progresses. I’ll avoid menu items I can make healthier myself and rein in my portions. I’ll also try to “make up” points the weeks after my vacation. (I’ll avoid using my Flex and earned activity points.) “Making up” points isn’t fun though, as I’m sure you can guess, so not going overboard to begin with is definitely the best plan!
  2. Still snack on fruit. If at all possible, find a way to hit a grocery store. On a business trip in Mexico, I even relied on a nearby convenience store for apples, oranges, and bananas. I also eat a piece or two before meals so I don’t go in starving and make poor choices.
  3. Plan your order at restaurants as much as possible. If you let your ego go, it’s typically not too difficult to find out what potential restaurants you’ll be visiting on your trip. Do your research on what you want to splurge on and what you can skip. In Denver, I knew I’d want to sample a large portion of Denver Biscuit Company’s menu and finagled pushing it to Sunday so I’d have “new points.” (My week starts on Saturday, i.e. I weigh in on Saturday.)
  4. Greek yogurt to the rescue. I tend to “carb load” when I go out for breakfast simply because those are the breakfast foods I enjoy the most; however, this leaves me feeling gross. I have a cup of greek yogurt before breakfast to combat this. The protein helps me eat a lot fewer pancakes!
  5. Pack smart. Some of my favorite items to pack for a trip (that help me stay on track) are: protein bars (Pure Protein brand, 5 PointsPlus®); Weight Watchers pecan turtles (1 PointsPlus®); Kellogg’s FiberPlus Antioxidants Caramel Coconut Fudge bars (3 PointsPlus®); and unsweetened dried fruit like apples, peaches, apricots, and mango. (Trader Joe’s typically has these varieties of fruit and BJ’s has a smaller selection in my experience.)
  6. Move. In Denver this was easy with plenty of parks and the gorgeous Flatirons nearby. Plus, since parking isn’t so easy downtown, we walked to the light rail frequently and from place to place. If you do a bit of research and are determined, you can usually find a way to incorporate activity into your trip. And if they’re nice, your hosts might even do your research for you, as they probably already know what opportunities are convenient in the area.
This entry was published on May 1, 2012 at 6:17 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

